How to get your California Food Handlers Card

A California Food Handler Card is required for food handlers working in California. A valid Certificate issued by an ANSI accredited training provider is considered a permit or license to handle food in California. Certificates issued by eFoodhandlers® are valid in all California counties except Riverside, San Bernardino, but APPROVED in San Diego County.

Video of How to get a California Food Handlers Card
Only $7.95, 100% Online
  • Food Handler study processComplete The Training
  • Food Handler study processTake The Test
  • Food Handler study processGet Your Certificate!
Only $7.95, 100% Online

How to get your Food Handlers card for California

  • Step 1. Make sure you need a California Food Handler card.
    Not every food worker is required under California Law. If you have questions, ask your employer or your local county health official. California Food Handlers Certificates are not valid in Riverside, San Bernardino, but approved in San Diego County. If you live in those counties, refer to their website for specific instructions.
  • Step 2. Get the right training.
    Make sure you do not need Manager's Food Safety training. If you will be acting as the Person-In-Charge, you may need a more extensive course. If you have questions, ask your employer or your local county health official.
  • Step 3. How to find an ANSI approved online training provider.
    ANSI accreditation is a requirement under California law. ANSI providers will have a visible logo with an issue number on their website.

FAQ

Do I have to take the course all at once, or can I study at my own pace?

Either. eFoodhandlers has two courses: an interactive, multi-media course and a text-based course that allow you to read through materials at your own pace. You can take breaks at the end of a chapter.

How long does the course take?

Generally around an hour to hour and a half depending on the course and your comfort with the materials.

How many times can I take the exam?

You can take the exam as many time as required. However, after 2 failed attempts, you must retake the course. There is not an extra charge for retaking the course.

How long is my Food Handlers Card valid?

It is valid for 3 years. At the end of that period, you will need to retake the course and pass the exam. eFoodhandlers makes that process simple and straightforward.

Is Free Food Handlers training available to those in need?

Yes. Contact CustomerService@efoodhandlers.com and ask about our Scholarship options.

Reviews for our Basic Food Safety Training Program

California Food Handlers Card

To learn more about the requirements for a California Food Handlers Card, click here.

-

Copyright © 2009-2019 eFoodHandlers Inc.

21:52:03 PM